2016 Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship awarded to Jim Tumlinson

Posted: August 21, 2015

This Lectureship was established in 1981 by ARS to honor the memory of Sterling B. Hendricks and to recognize scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical science of agriculture. Hendricks contributed to many diverse scientific disciplines, including soil science, mineralogy, agronomy, plant physiology, geology, and chemistry. He is most frequently remembered for discovering phytochrome, the light-activated molecule that regulates many plant processes.

The AGRO Division and the Agricultural & Food Chemistry Division (AGFD) co-sponsor the Lecture which is held in a joint session of these divisions. The award includes an honorarium of $2000, a bronze medallion, and expenses to attend the meeting.

Nominees are outstanding senior scientists in industry, universities, consulting, or government positions.